20th Annual International Conference on Formal Power Series and Algebraic Combinatorics (FPSAC 2008)

Cover Page
Programme Committee-Comité de Programme Bruce Sagan (Michigan State University, USA) (Chair)
Christian Krattenthaler (Universität Wien, Austria) (Co-chair)
Federico Ardila (San Francisco State University, USA)
Jean-Christophe Aval (Université Bordeaux 1, France)
Christine Bessenrodt (Universität Hannover, Germany)
Xun Dong (University of Miami, USA)
Susanna Fishel (Arizona State University, USA)
Sergey Fomin (University of Michigan, USA)
Patricia Hersh (Indiana University, USA)
Ronald King (University of Southampton, UK)
Luc Lapointe (Universidad de Talca, Chile)
Jeremy Lovejoy (Université Denis Diderot, France)
Jeremy Martin (University of Kansas, USA)
Jean-Christophe Novelli (Université de Marne-la-Vallée, France)
Frédéric Patras (Université de Nice, France)
Peter Paule (Universität Linz, Austria)
Nathan Reading (North Carolina State University, USA)
Bruno Salvy (INRIA, France)
Mark Shimozono (Virginia Tech University, USA)
Einar Steingrímsson (Reykjavik University, Iceland)
Itaru Terada (University of Tokyo, Japan) Organizing Committee-Comité d'Organisation Federico Ardila (San Francisco State University, USA)
Hélène Barcelo (Arizona State University, USA)
Christian Krattenthaler (Universität Wien, Austria)
María Ines Icaza (Universidad de Talca, Chile)
Luc Lapointe (Universidad de Talca, Chile) (Chair)
Jennifer Morse (Drexel University, USA)


This Proceedings volume is devoted to the 20th International Conference on Formal Power Series and Algebraic Combinatorics, held in Viña del Mar, Chile, during 23-27 June 2008. The conference attracted an audience of approximately 120 participants, consisting of graduate students, junior researchers, and senior researchers from Argentina, Australia, Austria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, China, France, Germany, Iceland, Israel, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, New Zealand, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Sweden, the United States and Venezuela.

The conference was dedicated to Pierre Leroux (1942-2008), who, while serving as president of the permanent programme committee of this conference series from 1991 to 1998, has been one of the driving forces which have made this series into the continuing success that it has been over the past 20 years.

The conference programme featured eight invited lectures, given by Marcelo Aguiar, Michael Albert, Jonathan Brundan, Dmitry Feichtner-Kozlov, Gilbert Labelle, Alexander Postnikov, María Ronco, and Carla Savage, 26 contributed talks, and 39 poster presentations. This volume contains the extended abstracts for most of the contributed talks and poster presentations, all of which had been selected in a careful reviewing process by the programme committee from submissions. These extended abstracts reflect the thematic breadth of the conference by covering aspects of Formal Power Series and Algebraic Combinatorics, including enumeration, commutative algebra, algebraic geometry, combinatorial representation theory, Hecke algebras, Hopf algebras, computational complexity, and statistical physics. We thank all contributors and participants for having made this conference a show-case of current trends in the field and a lively place of exchange of ideas.

The organizers are very grateful for the financial support of the Universidad de Talca (through funds from the Dirección de Investigación y Asistencia Técnica and the Instituto de Matemáticas) and of the Programa Bicentenario de Ciencia y Tecnología: Anillo Ecuaciones Asociadas a Reticulados (Chile). Many American participants were given the opportunity to attend the conference thanks to the support of the National Science Foundation and the National Security Agency. The Fields Institute was very helpful in managing the registration process, and funds generously provided by Elsevier were allocated to the Elsevier award for best extended abstract by a student (Valentin Féray) and to the support of Latin American participants.

We would like to thank all of those who served on the Programme and Organizing Committees, whitout whose contribution such a conference could never have been held. Finally, the help of Ricardo Baeza, Andrés Bustamante, Erdal Emsiz, Raimundo Hamilton, Ana Cecilia de la Maza, María Elena Pinto, Nancy Ruminot, Steen Ryom-Hansen, and especially Blanca Zúñiga, was more than invaluable to the local organizers.

Christian Krattenthaler
Luc Lapointe
Bruce Sagan

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional