21st International Conference on Formal Power Series and Algebraic Combinatorics (FPSAC 2009)

Cover Page

FPSAC 2009 was held at the Research Institute for Symbolic Computation, Hagenberg, Austria, on July 20-24, 2009.
Christian Krattenthaler, Volker Strehl, and Manuel Kauers


This Proceedings volume is devoted to the 21st International Conference on Formal Power Series and Algebraic Combinatorics, held at the Research Institute of Symbolic Computation (RISC) in Hagenberg, Austria, during 20-24 July 2009. The conference was extremely well attended: 200 graduate students, junior researchers, and senior researchers from Austria, Canada, Colombia, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, South Africa, South Korea, Sweden, the United Kingdom, and the United States gathered to enjoy the overwhelming hospitality of the RISC Combinatorics Group.

The conference programme featured nine invited lectures, given by Alexander Barvinok, Karin Erdmann, Jaroslav Nesetril, Bruno Salvy, Carsten Schneider, Michael Singer, Frank Sottile, Volkmar Welker, and Ae Ja Yee, 26 contributed talks, and 48 poster presentations. This volume contains the extended abstracts for most of the contributed papers and poster presentations, all of which had been selected in a careful reviewing process by the programme committee from submissions. These extended abstracts show the wide range of topics presented at the conference, linked together by the overall theme of Formal Power Series and Algebraic Combinatorics. These included enumeration, combinatorial geometry, commutative algebra, algebraic geometry, combinatorial representation theory, Hopf algebras, computational complexity, algebraic graph theory, and, of course (genius loci!), computer algebra. We thank all contributors and participants for having made this conference a show-case of current trends in the field and a lively place of exchange of ideas.

The organizers are very grateful for the financial support of the Johannes Kepler University Linz, the Austrian Science Foundation FWF, the province of Upper Austria, the University Fund Linz (Linzer Hochschulfonds), the Austrian Ministry of Science, the US National Science Foundation (NSF), and the US National Security Agency (NSA). They made it possible, with Susanna Fishel as manager, that a large number of young researchers could profit from this conference, respectively present their work. Funds generously provided by Elsevier were allocated to the Elsevier award for best extended abstract by a student (Guillaume Chapuy).

We would like to thank all of those who served on the Programme and Organising Committees, without whose contribution such a conference could never have been held. Furthermore, the help of Tanja Gutenbrunner, Gabriela Hahn, Veronika Pillwein, Marion Schimpl, and Ralf Hemmecke was more than invaluable to the local organizers.

Manuel Kauers (Scientific Programme Manager)
Christian Krattenthaler (Co-chair, Programme Committee)
Peter Paule (Chair, Organising Committee)
Volker Strehl (Co-chair, Programme Committee)

Committees Program Committee
  • Christian Krattenthaler (Co-Chair; University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Volker Strehl (Co-Chair; University of Erlangen, Germany)
  • Matthias Beck (San Francisco State University, USA)
  • Philippe Caldero (Universite Lyon-I, France)
  • Eva-Maria Feichtner (University of Bremen, Germany)
  • Sergey Fomin (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Jan de Gier (University of Melbourne, Australia)
  • Antonio Giambruno (University of Palermo, Italy)
  • Takayuki Hibi (University of Osaka, Japan)
  • Alain Lascoux (Universite Marne-la-Vallee, France)
  • Ezra Miller (University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA)
  • Maxim Nazarov (University of York, UK)
  • Marc Noy (Univ. Politecnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain)
  • Grigori Olshanski (Dobrushin Mathematics Laboratory, Moscow, Russia)
  • Soichi Okada (University of Nagoya, Japan)
  • Marko Petkovsek (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia)
  • Amitai Regev (Weizmann Institute, Rehovot, Israel)
  • Monica Vazirani (University of California, Davis, USA)
  • Michelle Wachs (University of Miami, USA)
  • Lauren K. Williams (Harvard University, Boston, USA)
  • Catherine Yan (Texas A&M University, USA)
Organizing Committee
  • Peter Paule (Chair; RISC, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Susanna Fishel (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Ralf Hemmecke (RISC, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Manuel Kauers (RISC, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Franz Lichtenberger (RISC, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Wolfgang Windsteiger (RISC, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
Local Arrangements Committee
  • Veronika Pillwein (Chair; DK Computational Math., Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Burcin Erocal (RISC, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Christoph Koutschan (RISC, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Clemens Raab (DK Computational Mathematics, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Silviu Radu (RISC, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Flavia Stan (RISC, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional